Karel Gott | LP The Golden Voice of Prague (Recital)

  1. album song  Text  Moon River (3:08)
  2. album song  Text  Maria (2:51)
  3. single record  Text  My Funny Valentine (3:54)
  4. single record  Text  Fascinating Rhythm (2:39)
  5. album song  Text  Snow-drift-eyes (4:36)
  6. single record  Text  Be-Bop-A-Lula (1:32)
  7. album song  Text  Somewhere (3:11)
  8. album song  Text  My World (2nd version) (2:40)
  9. album song  Text  That Lucky Old Sun (3:44)
  10. album song  Text  The Nearness Of You (5:22)
  11. album song  Text  Jezebel (3:16)
  12. album song  Text  Walk With Me (2:26)
Karel Gott | The Golden Voice of Prague (Recital)

LP Supraphon Artia 53643 (Recital 1130917)

New, english-sung album was recorded by Karel Gott during 1964-65, though we can find one of the first songs, which Karel has included into his repertoire there, the record from 1962. It is an album composed of the former czech authors'compositions, as well as from cover versions of famous hits. The album has ranked among the completely best european records of 1966 and it has brought enthousiasm to the United States, at the company representatives of Columbia records that planned to publish it there, too. It was also issued in the re-edition CD Complete, though without the former version of song "My World" from 1965, which has only been released on LP and later on another LP re-edition from 1970 (remastered form mono to spatial stereo). On the CD, you can only find a newer, stereo recording of the song. But the sleeve has got a slap. On the old LP record (especially re-edition), it was a nice yellow one, but here it turns to disgusting orange shade...

PROMO '66: ...His vocal facility enables him to have a repertoire streching from the beat music to near concert-hall standard numbers - a versatility amply demonstrated on this record. Besides the lyrical style of such songs as "Moon River" and "My World", two almost-jazz numbers can be heard - the intimate "My Funny Valentine" and the swinging "Fascinating Rhythm" of Gershwin. In "Snow-drift-eyes" you can hear his interpretation of the the number written by the distinguished Czech composers Slitr and Suchy, while "Be Bop A Lula" gives him a chance to display his skill in the beat music. The next is a traditional tune "That Lucky Old Sun", one of the most successful numbers in his repertoire, and one which shows how close his style can come to that of Ray Charles. Finally, two songs from Bernstein's "West Side Story": "Somewhere" and "Maria". Especially in Tony's well-known love-song, Gott can demonstrate the various registers of his voice, and stand comparison with any of the singers who took the role on Broadway. This is certainly the highest honour that can be paid to Karel Gott.

From the letter of Columbia Records sent to Artia, New York, on June 30th, 1966: We would like to express our congratulations to this great Karel Gott record. For all of us, who have heard him in our company, not only his singing performance, but even a great arrangement and good job of the Krautgartner Orchestra have made a great impression. The newspaper TIME brought this week an excellent review of Gott's LP in the USA. They called him the European Sinatra. We will send you a copy of this review, where this record has been listed in the list of the best European records of this season... We suppose that a real international star is being born in your country.